Week 9: South Africa Case Study

13-NIGHT SOUTH AFRICA INTENSIVE VOYAGE - 21-Dec-21
Cape Town is one of the coolest cities in the world, and also home to huge contrasts in wealth

First of all, I hope you all had a nice Easter/spring break. I hope that it was a time of rest and rejuvenation, and that you’re ready for the home stretch of the semester.

This week we will be exploring Apartheid South Africa. We have been reading Trevor Noah’s Born a Crime, and Archbishop Desmond Tutu’s No Future Without Forgiveness, and you should be wrapping those up this week. Hopefully you were able to understand what South Africa was like for the last half of the 20th century. A reminder that I had also created this page to help you get caught up on modern South Africa history.

This week we have two guest speakers: Gordon & Sue Jackson, who grew up in South Africa during Apartheid. They have been our closest family friends since before I was born, and I grew up with their children. They will be sharing their insights on growing up in South Africa, what they saw in terms of communication and conflict, and other wisdom. You can read a little bit about them here. Don’t forget that part of your grade for Guest Speaker Preparation is question preparation, and those are due to be before class. Please show up ready to participate Thursday.

As always, you can email me or schedule a time to meet with me via my Calendly.

Week 9 To-Do List

❑ Attend synchronous class Thursday @ 8 a.m. (Pacific)
Guest Speaker Preparation (Tuesday @ 8 a.m.)
❑ Tutu (Ch. 8-11)